This website would like to use cookies to store information on your computer to enable this website to function correctly. One of the cookies we use is vital to the operation of the site and this is already in use. You may delete and block all cookies from this site but if you do so then parts of the site may not work for you. To find out more about the cookies on this site please see our cookie policy.

Secure Usage Instructions

Below are some tips to ensure that your details and the information on Surreyi remain secure

Password

Remember that your password is personal and non-transferable. You are recommended to change it regularly and Surreyi will force you to change your password every 3 months. Remember to memorise it and avoid noting it down.

Password Do's and Don'ts

Do NOT

  • Let anyone else use your password
  • Use easily guessable words (eg your name)
  • Re-use passwords too regularly
  • Use the same password for different systems

DO

  • Keep your passwords safe
  • Change your passwords regularly

Using a shared computer

You should take additional precautions when using public or shared computers. Remember you can be observed by others, so make sure you are not being overlooked and keep your password safe.

It is important for you to protect against unauthorised access to your password and to your computer, so be sure to sign out when you finish a session.

How to logout of Surreyi

The Logout button is available in the top right corner of the main menu under the search box at all times.
You can also sign out by locating the sentence at the top left of any pages that says: Welcome Your Name (access level) Not You? Click on the Not You? link and your personal information is removed from the computer.

If you use a shared or public computer to access Surreyi, you should logout to prevent other users from accessing personal information.

Avoiding caching issues

Browsers store web pages in the cache on your computer to avoid having to fetch another copy when the user returns to the page. If the page has been updated since the user last looked, the user will sometimes miss new information because they're viewing the page from their local cache. In order to avoid viewing pages that are out of date it is a good idea to clear your cache regularly. This can also improve the ………….

Instructions on how to do this can be found on our frequently asked questions page


Updated: 29 July 2011 | Owner: Jonathan Wilson