Skip To Content

This page includes data about GCSE results at the end of Key Stage 4 (ages 11-16) results.

Data available: England, South East, Surrey

Latest data available: 2016/17 to 2018/19*

Attainment statistics for Surrey pupils in state-funded primary schools are available here.

Attainment statistics for Surrey post-16 qualifications are available here.

The pupil attainment statistics are calculated by the location of the pupils' schools. Experimental statistics which calculated attainment by the location of pupil residents were only released for 2015/16 and the Department for Education do not have plans to release residence-based results in the future.

*Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the summer exam series for the 2019/20 and 2020/21 academic years were cancelled. 

For 2020/21, pupils were only assessed on the content they had been taught for each course. Schools were given flexibility to decide how to assess their pupils’ performance, for example, through mock exams, class tests, and non-exam assessment already completed. GCSE grades were then determined by teachers based on the range of evidence available and they are referred to as teacher-assessed grades, or TAGs. 

For 2019/20, pupils were awarded either a centre assessment grade (known as CAGs, based on what the school or college believed the pupil would most likely have achieved had exams gone ahead) or their calculated grade using a model developed by Ofqual - whichever was the higher of the two.

The changes to the way GCSE grades have been awarded over the last two years (with CAGs and TAGs replacing exams) mean 2020/21 pupil attainment data should not be directly compared to pupil attainment data from previous years for the purposes of measuring year on year changes in pupil performance. See below for the grading information.

Local authority, region and the total (state-funded sector) figures cover achievements in state-funded schools only. They do not include pupils recently arrived from overseas.

GCSE grading (quoted from the Department for Education):

The new GCSEs in England have a 9 to 1 grading scale, to better differentiate between the highest performing students and distinguish clearly between the old and new qualifications.

Grade 9 is the highest grade and will be awarded to fewer students than the old A*.

The first exams in new GCSEs for English language, English literature and maths were sat in summer 2017. A further 20 new GCSEs were examined for the first time 2018, and in summer 2019 there will be 25 new GCSEs examined for the first time. For GCSEs in a small number of languages new exams will be sat for the first time in 2020, but most students will have all their GCSEs graded 9 to 1 in 2019.

The new GCSE grading scale is not directly equivalent to the old A* to G one. However, there are some comparable points between the old grades and the new ones, as the diagram shows:

  • The bottom of grade 7 is aligned with the bottom of grade A;
  • The bottom of grade 4 is aligned with the bottom of grade C; and
  • The bottom of grade 1 is aligned with the bottom of grade G. 

Attainment 8 is part of the new secondary accountability system being implemented for all schools from 2016.

Attainment 8 measures the achievement of a pupil across 8 qualifications including mathematics and English, 3 further qualifications that count in the English Baccalaureate (EBacc) measure and 3 further qualifications that can be GCSE qualifications (including EBacc subjects) or any other non-GCSE qualifications on the DfE approved list. Each individual grade a pupil achieves is assigned a point score, which is then used to calculate a pupil’s Attainment 8 score.

The points allocated according to grades the pupil achieves for all 8 subjects are added together to give the Attainment 8 score. English and maths point scores are double weighted to signify their importance.


In 2018, an additional 20 reformed GCSEs graded on a 9-1 scale were sat by pupils for the first time, along with the English language, English literature and mathematics GCSEs which were reformed in 2017. Further reformed GCSEs in other subjects will be phased in over the next 3 years. Points will be allocated to the new GCSEs on a 1-9 point scale corresponding to the new 1 to 9 grades, e.g. a grade 9 will get 9 points in the performance measures.

To minimise change, unreformed GCSEs and all other qualifications will be mapped onto the 1-9 scale from 2017 (with 8.5 being the maximum points available for unreformed GCSEs).

The 2017 headline accountability measures for secondary schools include: Attainment 8, attainment in English and mathematics at grades 5 or above, English Baccalaureate (EBacc) entry and achievement. In 2017, the headline EBacc achievement measure includes pupils who take exams in both English language and English literature, and achieve a grade 5 or above in at least one of these qualifications. Pupils must also achieve a grade 5 or above in mathematics and a grade C or above in the remaining subject areas.

From 2018, the headline EBacc attainment measure is the EBacc average point score (EBacc APS). This replaces the previous threshold EBacc attainment measure. EBacc APS measures pupils’ point scores across the five pillars of the EBacc –with a zero for any missing pillars. This ensures the attainment of all pupils is recognised, not just those at particular gradeboundaries, encouraging schools to enter pupils of all abilities, and support them to achieve their full potential.

For transparency and to allow comparison to 2016, the threshold attainment measures are also published at grade 4 or above, as additional measures. These figures are is most comparable to 2016 data, because the bottom of a grade 4 in reformed GCSEs maps onto the bottom of a grade C in unreformed GCSEs.

These additional measures are:

Attainment in English and maths (9-4) - Pupils can achieve the English component of this with 9-4 in English language or literature. There is no requirement to sit both exams.

English Baccalaureate (EBacc) achievement - This measure includes pupils who take exams in both English language and English literature, and achieve a grade 4 or above in at least one of these qualifications. Pupils also need to achieve a grade 4 or above in mathematics and a grade C or above in the remaining subject areas.

Frequency: Academic Year


Key Stage 4 results - area of school - Surrey-i.xlsx  (40.55 kB)
Easy-to-use Excel with most recent trends. 2018/19 (the assessments in 2019/20 and 2020/21 were cancelled due to the pandemic) Next update: December 2022 (estimated) Key Stage 4 represents the ages 14 to 16.

About this dataset

Last Update
Created 5 years ago, updated 5 months ago
Update Frequency Annually
Type of information Data summary